Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2014 SIS Hooding and Awards Ceremony

The 2014 School of Information Sciences Hooding Ceremony took place Friday May 9 in the University Center Ballroom.  Director and Professor Ed Cortez led the faculty and students as they celebrated the recognition of their hard work. Seventy-two students graduated from the program and twenty-six participated in the ceremony.

A crowd of around 150 friends and family were in attendance to witness the ceremony.  Cindy Hicks, harpist for the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra provided the music and processional.

Special guests were Michael Wirth, dean of the College of Communication and Information, Beth Davis-Brown from Washington D.C., president of the SIS Advisory Board, Aaron Dobbs from Pennsylvania, president of the SIS Alumni Society, and Patrick Powell, director of development for CCI.

Very special guests Sylvia Sproul and Jane Ray were also in attendance.  They are not only graduates of the School, they established one of the first scholarships in the School named in honor of their mother, the Carmen L. Moulton Scholarship.  In 2013, Richard Ray, Jane’s husband established the Jane Moulton Ray Scholarships to further extend the opportunities for deserving students to work toward their Master’s degree at the School.

The annual awards were presented at the ceremony.  They are as follows:

Best Technical Project for 2014 (Group) – Janell Thomson and Cecilia Cai

Best Technical Project for 2014 (Individual) – Chad Mitchell

Outstanding Service Award – Inga Haugen

Academic Achievement Award – Fawnie Delapp Erickson (DE) and Theresa Michelle Parrish (campus)

SIS Outstanding Master’s Student Award – Joanna Dunn

Gary R. Purcell Award – April Akins

Aaron Dobbs presented the SIS Innovator’s Award to Jordan Nielsen, assistant professor and business librarian at the University of Arkansas.  Nielsen helped create a certificate program for business students planning to study aboard and developed week long financial literacy events corresponding with Money Smart Week, a joint initiative sponsored by the American Library Association and the Federal Reserve Bank of Chicago.

Dobbs also presented the 2014 Distinguished Alumni Award to Marcellus Turner.  Turner is the City Librarian for the Seattle Public Library overseeing a system that includes the world-renowned Central Library and 26 new or renovated branches.  He oversees a $63 million budget and 684 staff members.

While at the ceremony, Marcellus Turner awarded the inaugural Marcellus Turner Excellence Scholarship to the first recipient, Charlene Kirkpatrick.  The scholarship was set up to recognize deserving students to help them reach their goals and dreams.

Associate Professor Bharat Mehra announced the other 2014 scholarships at the ceremony.  They are as follows:

Glenn E. Estes Scholarship

  • Jonathan Huitt
  • Jessica Bender
  • Jason Sharp
  • Kelli McClanahan

Information International Associates Scholarship

  • Sarah Foster
  • Lauren Weatherly

Jane Moulton Ray Scholarship

  • Bridgette Johnson
  • Andrew Grissom
  • Jessica Bender
  • Matthew O’Connor

Carmen L. Moulton Scholarship

  • Matthew O’Connor
  • Michelle Schabowski
  • Jonathan Huitt
  • Andrew Grissom

Gary R. Purcell Scholarship

  •  Krista Oldham

John C. Tyson Scholarship

  • Lauren Weatherly

H. W. Wilson Scholarship

  • Jason Sharp
  • David Baber
  • Katherine Chalman
  • Krista Oldham

Congratulations to all the graduates, award winners and scholarship recipients.  The Hooding Ceremony this year is the culmination of a truly wonderful year at the UT School of Information Science