Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

2013 Hooding Ceremony

2013 SIS Graduates

The 2013 SIS Hooding Ceremony was held May 10, 2013 at the University Center Ballroom on the UT campus.  Twenty-six SIS students attended the hooding ceremony to receive their Masters of Information Science.  A total of 62 students graduated with many of them as distance education students who were unable to travel to Knoxville for the event.  Fortunately, the event was videotaped and a link will be posted here as soon as the it is available for viewing. 

Natalie Hansen was selected as the voice of the graduating class.  She was selected for her outstanding performance as a student scholar and for the work she has been doing at Y12 creating digital assets at the library.

During the ceremony, several awards were presented.

Best Technical ProjectMiranda Orvis and Denise Quintel
Outstanding Master’s Thesis Award – Reid Boehm
Outstanding Service Award – Amy Dye-Reeves
Academic Achievement Award – Miranda Orvis (campus) and Kerri Courter (DE)
SIS Outstanding Master’s Student Award – Caroline Redmond
Gary Purcell AwardWilliam Travis Tidwell
The Bonnie Carroll and Roy Cooper Faculty Enrichment Award went to Dr. Kimberly Douglass

Martha Earl, President of the SIS Alumni Society, presented the Innovator’s Award to Andrea Baer, PhD (IS ’10) who is the Undergraduate Education Librarian at Indiana University-Bloomington.  Earl also presented the Distinguished Alumni Award to Dr. Shali Zhang (IS ’88) who is Dean of Libraries and Professor at University of Montana.  Dr. Zhang traveled all the way from Montana to revisit her alma mater and to receive her award.  Both award recipients addressed the graduates. 

In addition to the graduates, SIS Scholarships were also announced.  The recipients were invited to the ceremony to be recognized. The scholarship recipients are as follows:

Glenn E. Estes Scholarship 

  1. Theresa Parrish
  2. Evelyn Bevill
  3. Andrea Gill
  4. Samantha Kennedy

Information International Associates Scholarship 

  1. Krista Oldham

Jane Moulton Ray Scholarship

  1. Bridgette Johnson
  2. Casey Fox
  3. Rebecca Baker
  4. Matthew O’Connor

Carmen L. Moulton Scholarship 

  1. Allison Griffey
  2. Elizabeth Frakes
  3. Sierra Johnson
  4. Matthew Ownsby

Gary R. Purcell Scholarship 

  1. Andrew Grissom

John C. Tyson Scholarship 

  1. Jennifer Lin

H. W. Wilson Scholarship 

  1. Crystal Kile
  2. David Baber
  3. Ethan Fenichel
  4. Sheryl Sharp

The ceremony was accompanied by splendid music provided by Jennifer Bloch (viola) and her husband Ildar Khuziakhmetov (cello), both members of the Knoxville Symphony Orchestra.