Skip to content Skip to main navigation Report an accessibility issue

SIS Awards Announced at Hooding and Awards Ceremony

The School of Information Science’s 2010 Hooding and Awards Ceremony on May 12 was a happy occasion for graduates and their families and was punctuated by a lovely string quartet, a webcast watched from Iraq, a surprise faculty award, and reception in the new Scripps Convergence Lab overlooking UT’s Neyland Stadium. This year’s Hooding and Awards Ceremony was the first to be held in the new Communication Building Auditorium.

3 Graduates

Three SIS graduates pause for a photo before the SIS Hooding & Awards Ceremony

One graduate’s father, serving his country in Iraq, wasn’t able to attend the ceremony in person, and so the school set up a webcast for Major Tony Caldwell to attend virtually. He and fellow officers in the 278th Armored Cavalry Regiment watched the webcast live from their barracks. SIS 2010 Graduates

SIS students posing before Hooding & Awards Ceremony

Graduating student Amber Conger was the guest speaker for the event. Amber gave a succinct overview of the history, philosophy, and current issues in the field of librarianship and information sciences, and she also demonstrated the poise and energy this class has for succeeding in the workplace. Click here for a transcript of her talk.
Dr. Bharat Mehra, the chair of the Student Affairs Committee, announced several student awards:

Best Paper Award: Jerianne Thompson

Jerianne’s paper, “Zine Cataloging – Needs Assessment,” is an exemplary and encompassing piece of research that grew out of her interest in the academic, public, and special library community for content description guidance and builds upon her SIS learning experiences. Jerianne created the survey, got IRB clearance, executed and wrote-up the report partially on her own time and in part as an independent study.

Outstanding Service Award: David Green and Christa Cordrey
The purpose of the Outstanding Service Award is to recognize a student who has shown exemplary, continuous, dedicated, and voluntary service to the SIS community.

Academic Achievement Award: Brian Boling
The Academic Achievement Award recognizes a student for excellence in academic work, such as coursework, presentations, thesis, and/or manuscripts submitted for publication.

SIS Outstanding Master’s Thesis: Jessica Waugh
for her Thesis: “Cooperation in the Commonwealth: Perceptions of Partnership Initiatives between Virginia’s Academic Health Sciences Libraries and Select (Contiguous) Public Library Systems for the Provision of Consumer Health Information Services”

Gary R. Purcell Award: Susan Wood
The Gary R. Purcell Award honors the memory of the school’s first director. The faculty present this award to a student who shows unusual promise as a leader in the field of information sciences, in research and innovation, intellectual activity and creativity and management. It is an award for overall excellence rather than excellence in any one particular area alone. For the purpose of this award, “leadership” is defined as the ability to make a significant change for the better for a group of people, a technology or institution, and to advance the intellectual discipline of the information sciences.

SIS Faculty Awards

Dr. Ed Cortez announced two School level faculty awards, both of which come with a modest monetary gift. This year’s SIS Outstanding Assistant Professor of the Year Award was given to Dr. Vandana Singh. This award recognizes an assistant professor who demonstrates excellence in research as well as excellence in teaching and/or service.

The second award is a new award. Sustained through a generous endowment gift from Bonnie Carroll and Roy Cooper, the Bonnie Carroll and Roy Cooper Faculty Enrichment Award is intended to enrich faculty within the School as well as the reputation of the School.  The inaugural recipient of this award is Rachel Fleming-May.

Scholarship Awards

Finally, the School of Information Sciences is pleased to announce several scholarship awards. The School received a large number of scholarship applications this year and fielded many outstanding applications. The School’s 13 winning scholarship recipients are:

  • Carmen L. Moulton Fellowship: Saskia Hoff, Cindy Sharp, Amanda Carter, Jonathan Kelfer
  • Gary R. Purcell Fellowship: Hannah Parris
  • H.W. Wilson Award: Lee Billings, Sharon Kay Darling, Rosann Wilson, Jennifer Morden, Amanda Yother, Gregory Stoner
  • Glenn E. Estes Fellowship: Rachel Steiner
  • Information International Associates Scholarship: Andrea Baer

Congratulations to all of the recipients of the scholarships and awards!